Texas Food Handlers License Course
- 100% Online Training for Food Handlers
- State-Approved Certification Course
- Print Your Food Handler Card as Soon as You Finish
- Bundle with TABC Certification for a Discount
Food workers in Texas can earn their state-required food hander certification and wallet-sized food handler card by completing the Texas Online Food Handler Program.
The two-hour online course is approved by the Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS), and you can instantly download and print your food handler card and certificate after completing your training. The course has no quizzes or final exam, so you're guaranteed to pass!
The Texas DSHS requires this training for employees who work unpackaged food, food equipment or utensils, or food-contact surfaces. You'll learn about a wide range of food safety topics that prevent contamination and foodborne illness, including hygiene practices, cleaning and sanitization techniques, proper food storage and time and temperature controls.
Texas DSHS-accredited food handler training
Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS)
Texas food employees
Instant digital certificate and wallet-sized food handler card
100% online course
24/7 customer support
If your employer requires TABC certification to sell or serve alcohol, you can purchase our discounted course bundle that includes the Texas Online Food Handler Program and the two-hour online Texas Seller-Server Training course.
The Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission (TABC) strongly recommends TABC certification training to ensure all workers understand state laws for alcohol sales and effective strategies to prevent sales to minors and intoxicated customers.
Our Texas DSHS-accredited food handler course includes five modules on food safety. You'll learn about a wide range of topics, including:
Food service employees who work with unpackaged food, food equipment, utensils or food contact surfaces must earn their food handler certification within 60 days of starting work. This training requirement is outlined in Texas Food Establishment Rules (TFER).
You can obtain your Texas food handler certification in three easy steps:
If you lose your proof of certification or need to print another copy, you can access your certificate anytime by logging back into your account.
According to the Texas DSHS, workers exempt from food handler training include Certified Food Managers, employees at food establishments serving only pre-packaged items and workers at temporary food establishments under DSHS jurisdiction.
The following individuals are also exempt while under the direct supervision of a Certified Food Manager or someone holding a food handler certification:
Under Texas Food Establishment Rules (TFER) §228.33, all food employees must complete an accredited food handler training course within 60 days of starting employment.
No, this course is not accredited by the American National Standards Institute (ANSI). It is accredited by the Texas DSHS and accepted in most Texas jurisdictions. Some areas may require food handlers to complete an ANSI-accredited course within 60 days of employment.
Your Texas food handler certification will expire two years after the issue date. It is your responsibility to retake a Texas DSHS-accredited food handler course before your certification expires.
All students have lifetime, 24/7 access to their course certificate. If you lose your Texas food handler certificate or card, simply log into your account and print a new copy.