Online Driver’s Education for California Teens
Getting a driver’s license for a teenager is considered a rite of passage and allows them to travel to school, to work or to see friends, which gives them a sense of freedom. Unfortunately, motor vehicle crashes are the number one cause of death among teens in the United States, and according to the California Office of Traffic Safety, a 16-year-old is 20 times more likely to be killed in a crash than an adult.
The California Department of Motor Vehicles requires all teen drivers to complete a California Driver Education Course, which can be taken in person or online at CaliforniaDriverEdCourse.com through the American Safety Council®.
Read on to learn more about the affordable, flexible and 100% online California Teen Driver Education Course, as well as the steps to obtaining a driver’s license in the state of California.
California Driver’s Ed Course Requirements
Because accidents are so common among teens, it is especially important for them to learn the rules of the road, safe driving techniques, how to prevent accidents and so forth—which is why the California DMV requires them to pass a teen driver’s education course.
Anyone between the age of 15.5 years old and 17.5 years old must take a state-approved Driver’s Ed Course and pass a written permit exam to get a provisional permit. The driver training course must consist of the following:
- At least 30 hours of professional classroom instruction, which can be completed in-person or online.
- At least six hours of behind-the-wheel professional instruction.
Here’s what you need to know regarding on-the-road driving hours with professional instruction:
- The teen’s behind-the-wheel driving practice must not exceed more than two hours per day.
- Observation time does not count toward the required six hours of driving practice.
- The six hours of behind-the-wheel driving instruction that is required for the driver education requirement does not count toward the 50 hours of supervised driving that is required for the California Graduated Driver’s License (GDL) process which begins after obtaining their permit.
Rather than sign up for 2.5 semester periods of driver’s education, California teens can now learn their driver’s education online, with unlimited customer support and addition prep, before taking their permit exam and earning their provisional license.
California Online Driver’s Ed Course Details
In their first year on the road, teens are almost 10 times more likely to be in a crash and nine out of 10 teens reported it was common to see teens driving while talking on a cell phone. The best way to prevent crashes and distracted driving is to educate young drivers. This is why the CA driver’s ed course will teach them:
- Basic fundamentals of being safe and responsible while driving, including car maintenance and repairs
- Important driving skills that will help them safely operate a motor vehicle
- California laws and road rules including who has the right of way, how to merge onto traffic and how to identify California-specific road signs
- Driving in specific weather conditions
- How to respond in emergency situations, including accidents, as well as what to do in construction zones, railroad crossings, etc.
About Our Online Course Units
According to a study, 75 percent of serious teen driver crashes are due to “critical errors.” The three most common errors, which accounted for nearly half of crashes in 2011, were:
- Lack of scanning, which is needed to detect and respond to hazards
- Driving too fast for the road conditions
- Being distracted by something inside or outside of the motor vehicle
To prevent these errors from occurring, we want to ensure that teen drivers learn as much as they can before getting on the road, which is why the course is broken into various units. All California students must complete each unit to pass their teen driver education online course and take the final permit exam.