Situation in a Hair salon

Florida Cosmetology License Renewal Online

What Is It?

Continuing education courses

Who Is It For?

Florida cosmetologists and registered specialists


Required by the Florida Board of Cosmetology


Affordable, convenient online courses

How Do I Renew My Cosmetology License in Florida?

Cosmetologists and other hair and body specialists help their customers feel neat and trim by cutting hair, painting nails and offering other beauty services. Not only is keeping your cosmetology license current required by the state, but it’s the best way to protect you and your customers and provide a relaxing experience.

Through, American Safety Council® provides easy-to-access online continuing education courses for your Florida cosmetology license renewal. Whether you need the full 16-hour course or want to take the license renewal test online, all of our courses are approved by the State of Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR) Board of Cosmetology.

Looking for just the 2-hour HIV/AIDS continuing education courses? American Safety Council provides these affordable online options for hair braiders, hair wrappers and body wrappers, as well as barbers.

Is Cosmetology Continuing Education For Me?

Cosmetology online classes from American Safety Council are meant for these specialists looking to renew their license:

  • Cosmetologists, including hair stylists and wax specialists
  • Full specialists, including those who provide manicures, pedicures, facials or shampoo washes
  • Nail technicians
  • Facial specialists
  • Hair wrappers
  • Hair braiders
  • Body wrappers
  • Barbers

Cosmetologists and full specialists are required to take 16 hours of continuing education to renew their license, while hair braiders, hair wrappers, body wrappers and barbers need to take the 2-hour HIV/AIDS course.

Reasons to Renew Your Cosmetology License

  • Mandatory if you want to remain a licensed cosmetologist in Florida
  • Enables your license to stay current for two more years
  • Protects you and your customers from catching or spreading disease
  • Allows you to have a clean, sanitary salon that’s safe and appealing to customers
  • Prevents your license from becoming inactive or null and void, which happens when you don’t renew your license
  • Keeps you up-to-date on the latest laws, regulations and best practices
  • Follows ethical beauty practices

Why Florida Cosmetology License Renewal with American Safety Council?

100% Online

Renewing your cosmetology license online allows you to complete the course or test at a time that works for your schedule.

Save Your Work

Log in and out whenever you need to start or stop working, and your process is saved each time.

Choose Your Location

Sitting through an in-person course in a classroom isn’t necessary. Take American Safety Council’s course from anywhere with internet access.

Free Reporting

We report course completion of the 16-hour and 2-hour refresher courses to the Florida Board of Cosmetology at no extra charge.

No Membership Required

Create a username and password when you enroll and get started on the course right away.

Customer Support

If you have a question about your account, our representatives are available 24/7 to chat online or by phone.

State Approved

The courses cover all the information and meet all the requirements of the Florida Board of Cosmetology.


American Safety Council provides cosmetology continuing education courses online at a low cost.

When Does My Cosmetology License Expire?

Florida cosmetology licenses are biennial, meaning you must renew them every two years. You must complete the renewal process before the deadline of October 31.

Cosmetology license renewals are divided into Group 1 and Group 2. If you are in Group 1, your license was issued in an even-numbered year and should be renewed in an even-numbered year by October 31. Those in Group 2 received their license in odd-numbered years and should renew their licenses in odd-numbered years by this same date.

Inactive and Null and Void Licenses

If you don’t finish the courses and pay the renewal fee in time, your cosmetology license is inactive until you do so.

A Florida cosmetology license is considered null and void if you don’t renew it within two years. At this point, your license can’t be reinstated unless you:

  • Prove you didn’t renew the license due to economic hardship or illness.
  • Take the HIV/AID course within two years of completing the renewal process.
  • Pay a fee.
  • Complete the application form.

Renewing Your FL Cosmetology License Online

When it’s time to renew your Florida cosmetology license, you can take our 16-hour course by American Safety Council online, as well as take cosmetology renewal test online for a faster renewal process.

Taking the Online Course

The 16-Hour Cosmetology Continuing Education (License Renewal) Online course is a series of modules that review all required course topics. Each section ends with a quiz. The quizzes are in true/false format, and you have unlimited chances to pass. If you’re not sure of an answer, you are able to go back and review the material during the quiz.

Here are a few examples of what you can expect from a quiz question:

  • There are four distinct stages of hair growth. True or false?
  • HIV and AIDS are curable diseases. True or false?
  • The Board of Cosmetology must be approved by the House of Representatives. True or false?
  • Both antiseptics and disinfectants can be used on human skin. True or false?
  • The statewide average weekly wage is determined by the Department of Economic Opportunity. True or false?

There is no final exam with the 16-hour course.

Florida Cosmetology License Renewal Test Online

American Safety Council provides an online version of the cosmetology renewal test. This is a great option if you prefer to take the exam on a computer and have your results automatically submitted. Would you prefer to take the paper version of the test? Order your copy today.

As you take the course, you may find it helpful to have a printed version of the information. You can download the free cosmetology continuing education booklet to go along with the online course and prepare for the test.

The test and booklet are also available in Vietnamese.

Cosmetology License Renewal Topics

  • Worker’s compensation and Florida law—1 hour
  • Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) regulations—1 hour
  • Environmental issues—1 hour
  • HIV/AIDS and other disease—2 hours
  • Chemical makeup of nails, skin and hairs—2 hours
  • Florida Board of Cosmetology rules and state and federal laws for cosmetologists, salons, specialists, specialty salons and booth renters—2 hours
  • Sanitation and sterilization—3 hours
  • Continuing education of any additional instruction—4 hours

Completing the Course

Once you have successfully completed the course and test online, American Safety Council submits your proof of completion to the Florida Board of Cosmetology automatically and free of charge. You can also download and print a copy of your certificate of completion for your own records.

If you take the printed version of the test, please either fax your answers to 855-899-4183 or mail them to:

American Safety Council – Cosmetology Division
225 E. Robinson St.
Suite 570
Orlando, FL 32801

The Florida Board of Cosmetology mails your new license to you within 30 days, and the new license is valid for two years.

HIV/AIDS Continuing Education

The state of Florida requires hair braiders, hair wrappers, body wrappers and barbers to take two hours of HIV/AIDs continuing education every two years to renew their license. American Safety Council offers two online courses options to satisfy this requirement and teach specialists about HIV/AIDS and how it applies to their trade.

The first option is for hair braiders, hair wrappers and body wrappers. The second option is specifically for barbers.

License Renewal HIV/AIDS Course for Barbers

Approved by the Florida Barbers’ Board, this course is required for barbers, restricted barbers and barber’s assistants. Our online class reviews the course information through a series of modules and a 20-question final exam. You have unlimited attempts to pass the exam and can look back at the course material to find the correct answers.

HIV/AIDS Continuing Education Topics

  • How HIV/AIDs spreads
  • Communicable diseases
  • Infection control procedures
  • How to prevent HIV, AIDS and other communicable diseases
  • How to deal with clients who may have HIV, AIDs or another communicable disease

What Happens Once I’ve Finished the HIV/AIDS Course?

American Safety Council automatically reports your 2-hour course completion to the Florida Board of Cosmetology after you finish the final exam. You can also download a certificate of completion for your own records.

Closeup of adult caucasian woman having her face pampered at beauty salon by mid aged professional female beautician. The client is relaxing on massage bed wrapped in white towel. Some cosmetic products are on the shelves in background, blurry.

Next Steps: Florida Cosmetology License Renewal Applications and Fees

Taking the continuing education course is one of two actions needed to keep your cosmetology license current. After you complete the required course, submit your application and renewal fee through the Florida DBPR website.

The cost of your renewal fee depends on your trade:

  • Cosmetologists—$55
  • Hair wrappers, hair braiders and body wrappers—$30
  • Barbers—$105
  • Barber assistants—$25

FL Cosmetology License Renewal FAQ

Can I take the course on my tablet?

Yes, the online continuing education course offered by American Safety Council is available on any device with internet access, including cell phones, tablets, laptops and desktop computers.

What happens if my license becomes inactive?

If you don’t complete the renewal process and you license is inactivated, you are not permitted to work. Complete the course and pay state fee to reactivate your license.

Do I have to take both the 16-hour course and the 2-hour HIV/AIDS course?

No. Only hair wrappers, body wrappers, hair braiders and barbers need to take the 2-hour HIV/AIDS course. If you are one of these specialists, you do not have to have to take both the 16-hour and 2-hour courses.

Can you fail the online course?

No. The course quizzes and final exam are open book and have unlimited attempts. While there’s no timer or limited number of days on the course itself, you must renew your license by October 31 in your renewal year.

What should I study for the cosmetology license renewal test?

The test covers the information in the continuing education course, so make sure you pay attention to the material. You can also download the test booklet for a printable version of the information.

Renew Your Florida Cosmetology License Online

When it’s your year to renew your cosmetology license, American Safety Council’s online continuing education course has everything you need. From meeting the state of Florida requirements to automatic reporting, our course allows you to quickly complete the Florida cosmetology license renewal process. American Safety Council is accredited by the Better Business Bureau and provides the tools professionals need to succeed in their cosmetology career.

To get started, register for our 16-hour course and online exam or one of our two HIV/AIDS courses for braiders and wrappers or barbers today.


Professional Beauty Association:

Beauty Schools Directory: 

Florida DPBR:

Florida DPBR:

Florida DPBR: 

Better Business Bureau: