Step 2: Take the Florida Notary Education Course
If you are a first-time applicant for a FL notary commission, you must submit proof that you have completed a three-hour notary education course within one year prior to the application. The American Safety Council provides this course free of charge.
Upon completing the course, you must submit a signed Certificate of Course Completion to the American Association of Notaries.
If you are renewing your notary application, you may skip this step and continue with the next step.
Step 3: Contact the Florida Notary Service
The state of Florida does not give out notary applications; however, bonding agencies, like the Florida Notary Service, do. With one payment, you will receive the application while we pay your state fees, write your notary bond and supply your notary seal.
Step 4: Complete the Notary Application
When filling out our online notary application, you will be requested to provide the following:
- Personal information, like your name, age and contact information.
- Employer information, like the name of your employer and how long you’ve been working.
- Character affidavit—This is a statement from a person who knows you personally, but cannot be related to you, swearing that you are of good character.
- Oath of Office
- Bond—The State of Florida requires all notaries to carry a minimum of a 4-year $7,500 bond. This bond does not protect the notary, but is put in place to protect against damages a notary may cause. The state filing fee for this bond is a state-mandated $39. This is also included in your notary package.
If there is any information missing, your application will be returned to the Florida Notary Service until all necessary materials have been submitted.
If you have been convicted of a felony, had adjudication withheld or are on probation, you must submit the following documents:
- A written statement regarding the nature and circumstances of the felony charges
- A copy of the Judgment and Sentencing Order
- If convicted, a copy of the Certification of Restoration of Civil Rights (or pardon)
Step 5: Gather Required Documentation
To prove that you meet the state residency and age requirements for becoming a Florida notary, you will have to provide the following documentation:
- Proof of residency—this can be a Florida driver license, car registration or voter registration
- Age requirement—this can be a birth certificate or state-issued identification
If you are not a U.S. citizen, you must file and complete a Declaration of Domicile. This must be obtained and filed at your county seat.
Step 6: Place a Notary Stamp or Seal on Your Application
Each document of a Florida notary must be marked with an approved rubber stamp using black ink. This stamp or seal should include your name and commission number, along with the words “Notary Public State of Florida.” Our Notary Package provides you with a self-inking notary stamp.
Step 7: Submit Your Application
Submitting your Florida Notary application through our website is easy and simple—after you complete the application, we will submit it to the state for further review. This process usually takes two to three weeks from when we receive your materials. Once your application is approved and the state issues you a notary commission, we will send you your official notary supplies and materials.