Information for Restaurateurs, Bar Owners, Liquor License Holders
What Does TABC Certification Mean for You?
- Your servers and bartenders will know and understand Texas laws as they relate to alcohol sales.
- The course covers refusing sales to minors, intoxicated people and non-members of private clubs.
- When your servers and bartenders understand the law, they are less likely to accidentally break it. As retailer, this will ultimately protect you and your establishment.
- The Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission has the power to take administrative action against your liquor license. TABC certification will protect against this.
- This protection is known as the Safe Harbor Act.
What is The Safe Harbor Act?
The Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission can legally take administrative action against your liquor license if your employees break certain laws pertaining to alcohol sales. The Safe Harbor Act—also known as Texas Alcoholic Beverage Code §106.14(a)—ensures that TABC will not take action against your license or permits as long as:
- The person selling is not the owner or an officer of the company.
- All employees engaged in the sale, service or delivery of alcoholic beverages, as well as their immediate managers, are certified within 30 days of their hire date.
- The employer has written policies for responsible alcohol service and ensures that each employee has read and understands these policies.
- The employer does not directly or indirectly encourage the employee to violate the law.
- Three or more of these types of violations are in a twelve month period.
Your permit or license to sell alcohol can be suspended or canceled as the direct result of your servers’ infractions. For a first offense, your license or permit could be suspended for up to 90 days. For a second offense, it could be suspended for up to six months (or canceled). For a third offense within three years, it could be suspended for up to 12 months (or canceled).
Finally, if an illegal sale is made to someone who is involved in a fatal accident, the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission will immediately begin the process to cancel your permit or license.
The TABC certification does not necessarily protect your server or bartender from legal action. He or she is legally responsible for refusing service to minors, intoxicated individuals and non-members of private clubs (they will learn their own responsibilities and liabilities during the course). Your permit, on the other hand, is protected as long as you meet the above criteria.
Which Employees Need to Be Certified?
According to the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission anyone who “sells, serves, dispenses or delivers alcoholic beverages under the authority of a license or permit, including persons who immediately manage, direct, supervise or control the sale or service of alcoholic beverages” should be certified.
Does Texas Seller Server Offer Group Discounts?
Yes. If you’re interested in getting a group of your employees certified, inquire about our special group discounts. If you have two or more employees that need TABC certifications, Texas Seller Server offers discounts that range from 10% to 30% off.
TABC Certification Online and Food Handler Package
The Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS) requires anyone in Texas who works with unpackaged food, food equipment and utensils and anyone who will come in contact with food to be trained in the proper techniques to reduce the risk of foodborne illness outbreaks. This covers all kitchen staff, bussers, bartenders, servers, hostesses, managers and even restaurant owners who may come into contact with food.
Texas Seller Server offers a Food Handler Course for only $9.99. This is a very simple course that covers all of the basic course materials as mandated by the state of Texas. There are no quizzes, tests or exams. Your food handler card will be instantly available for download once you’ve completed the course material.
If you need both the TABC and Food Handler Course, Texas Seller Server offers a discounted package that includes both courses. It is only $21 and meets all of the requirements by the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission and the Texas Department of State Health Services.