Frequently Asked Questions
Are these defensive driving courses approved by the state of Delaware?
American Safety Council is a Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles approved provider, and both the online Delaware Defensive Driving course and the Delaware refresher course are approved by the state of Delaware's Division of Motor Vehicles under the defensive driving program.
Do these courses provide an insurance discount?
Yes, both courses do! Upon successful completion of the online Delaware Defensive Driving Course, you will receive a state-mandated insurance discount of 10% on your liability insurance for each automobile, motor home, or motorcycle insured under a policy if all operators named on the policy as insureds complete the course for 3 years.
Upon successful completion of the online Delaware Defensive Driving 3-hour Refresher Course, you will receive a state-mandated insurance discount of 15% on your liability insurance for 3 years.
How soon can I complete the refresher course to renew my discount?
An insured who completes a 3-Hour Delaware Refresher Course within the 180 days prior to the three year expiration date of his or her initial Delaware Defensive Driving Course shall receive a 15% discount effective the next renewal date.
How do I know what course to take?
If you have never taken a Delaware Defensive Driving Course and would like to receive an automobile insurance reduction, you will need to take the Delaware Defensive Driving Course. Click the GET MY DISCOUNT button to get started.
If you have previously completed a Delaware Defensive Driving Course which was a minimum of 6 hours and no more than five years has elapsed from the date of course completion, you can take the Delaware Defensive Driving 3-Hour Refresher Course. Click the RENEW MY DISCOUNT button to get started.
What happens if not all of the operators covered under the policy complete the course?
If fewer than all the operators covered as principal or occasional drivers complete the course, then the discount shall be a fraction of 10%. The fraction shall be the number of operators completing the course, divided by the total number of operators.
An insured who completes the refresher course after the expiration of the three year period shall lose the 10% or 15% discount on the expiration date, but shall receive the 15% discount effective on the date of completion of the refresher course, if said completion is within two years of the expiration date.
How long is each defensive driving course?
The Delaware Defensive Driving Course is a state-required minimum of 6 hours.
The Delaware Defensive Driving 3-Hour Refresher Course is a state-required minimum of 3 hours.
Do I get a point credit for course completion?
Yes. Drivers who complete the defensive driving course are eligible for a 3-point credit on their Delaware driving record.
How do I know if I qualify for point credits?
The Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles may consider the satisfactory completion of the Delaware Defensive Driving Course as a 3-point credit when determining driver penalties. This credit is at the discretion of the Division and may vary from case to case.
Are these defensive driving courses completely online?
Yes. The registration, text and visual-based defensive driving courses and final exam are all entirely online.
How do I sign up?
Select the GET MY DISCOUNT button for the Delaware Defensive Driving Course and the RENEW MY DISCOUNT button for the Delaware Defensive Driving 3-Hour Refresher Course below to get started. Simply answer a few short questions on our online registration form to get started. This information allows us to process your completion to the Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles. Once you submit payment you can go straight to beginning the course!
Do I have to complete the courses in one sitting?
No you may take both courses at your own pace. Our system will save your progress each time you log off.
How do I get my certificate?
After you've successfully passed the final exam, your certificate will be available for immediate download.