The Michigan Point System

If you do not take care of your Michigan traffic ticket, your driver's license could be suspended.  Depending on the type of violation you may have to pay a fine, get referred to complete a special program, or go to jail if the situation is serious. Under Michigan law, some traffic violations are classified as "civil infractions" while others are listed as misdemeanors or felonies. Regardless, each time you are convicted of a traffic violation, you will have to pay certain court fines and costs. In addition, points may be posted to your driving record.

Points remain on your Michigan driving record for two years from the date of conviction. What's important to note is the system used to post points to your driving record is separate from the points assigned by an insurance company to determine your rate. Therefore your best bet is getting no points or reducing your total to zero by taking Michigan basic driver improvement.

Below is a list from the Michigan Department of State for traffic violations and the points associated with them:

Six Points

  • Manslaughter, negligent homicide, or other felony involving use of a motor vehicle
  • Operating while intoxicated or operating with any presence of a Schedule 1 drug (classified by the U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration) or cocaine
  • Failing to stop and give identification at the scene of an accident
  • Reckless driving
  • Refusal to take a chemical test
  • Fleeing or eluding a police officer
  • Failure to yield causing death or injury of an emergency responder, construction worker or person operating implements of animal husbandry (breeding or raising livestock)

Four Points

  • Drag racing
  • Impaired driving
  • Under the age of 21 with any bodily alcohol content
  • 16 mph or more over the legal speed limit
  • Failure to yield/show due caution for emergency vehicles

3 Points (Eligible for Basic Driver Improvement*)

  • Careless driving
  • Disobeying a traffic signal or stop sign, or improper passing
  • 11 through 15 mph over the legal speed limit
  • Failure to stop a railroad crossing
  • Failure to stop for a school bus or for disobeying a school crossing guard

2 Points (Eligible for Basic Driver Improvement*)

  • 10 mph or less over the legal speed limit
  • Open alcohol container in a vehicle
  • All other moving violations of traffic laws
  • Refusal of Preliminary Breath Test (PBT) by anyone under the age of 21

*To make sure you are eligible for the Michigan Basic Driver Improvement Course, check the list of eligible tickets provided by the Michigan Secretary of State.

Driver Improvement Benefits

  • Department of State Approved
  • 24/7 Course and Customer Support
  • Log On and Off as Needed
  • Includes Free Certificate
  • Automatic Completion Reporting

Provided By:
American Safety Council